2018 Team Award
Is a group award in recognition for winning a major championship or a team performing in an outstanding manner over a period of time.



1987 Mooretown Comets

Front from Left to Right:

Front Row: Dean Sowinski, Dave Parker, Ron Wilson, Kevin Pitel, Bill Dark, Mark Mullen, Paul Schieman, Mark Hillier, Willy Williams

Middle Row: Archie Rankin, Ron Scheffer, Fred Leneve, Rick Rankin, Mickey Mullen, Nelson Turnbull, Neil Jeffrey, Dave McCormick, Steve Mullen, Mark Dottori, Doug Ross

Back Row: Larry Smith, Floyd Scheffer, Jim Gudrie, Mike McGugan, Norm Zink, Todd Fulcher, Dave Cook,
Mike Williams, Dave Allen, Ken Carpenter, Steve Elnicki

Missing: Terry Lumley, Stan McKinnon, Gary Cater, Tim Maracle


The Mooretown Comets won the Ontario Sr. B hockey championship in dramatic fashion. Although they only finished in third place in the 1986/87 regular season, they won four playoff rounds to take the title.

The Comets lost their first game of that unforgettable year and finished with a record of just 13-9-2.

But when the chips were down this was a team that showed heart and determination in spades.

They knocked Wallaceburg out of the playoffs in the first round, then rolled from there to one win after another. After winning their own league with three playoff round victories, they moved on to the provincial championship against Tavistock. This was a hard fought series but Mooretown showed true grit, winning the title on the road with a 6-3 victory right in Tavistock.


hosted by

back to 2018