2017 Team Award
Is a group award in recognition for winning a major championship or a team performing in an outstanding manner over a period of time.



1967/68 Sarnia Legionnaires

Front from Left to Right:

Front Row: Brian Skinner, Mike Bartley, Don Gordon, Joe Adams, Doug Wilson, Carl Bagnell, Cavin Simpson, Dale Dolmage, Dave Dodds, Steve Stefanko.

Middle Row: Don Savage, Len Fontaine, Jean Beaupre, Tommy Douglas, Dennis Kirby, Roy Bouman, Bob Lacey, Bruce Neely, Ted Garvin.

Back Row: Dr. Wes Moore, Lorne Stewart, Mel Swartz, Bill Wally, Ross Arblaster, Clare Brown, Tom Norris, Dr. McGarrity, Roy Halliday, Jim Martin.



The 1967/68 Sarnia Legionnaires were one of the greatest clubs in Ontario Jr. 'B' hockey history.

Coached by Ted Garvin, the Legionnaires finished in first place in the Western Jr. 'B' loop that season with 38 wins, 11 losses and three ties. They scored 333 goals in just 52 games while allowing only 178.

In the playoffs they were almost invincible, posting a 16-1 won-lost record. Along the way they won four best-of-seven rounds to capture the Sutherland Cup as Ontario champions.

They took out the St. Thomas Barons 4-1 in games before winning their own league by sweeping the Chatham Maroons in four straight. From there, they whipped the St. Marys Lincolns in four straight before winning all by taking out the Markham Waxers four games to none.


Don Savage was the general manager.



hosted by

back to 2017