2007Bud Morrison Award

Doug Caley
Born:  Watford, Ontario
Sport:  Ice Hockey

Doug Caley was born on February 6, 1944 in Watford, Ontario and is being recognized for his contribution to the youth in sports.

Growing up Doug played minor hockey in Watford as well as softball and hardball.  Doug played on the All-Ontario Juvenile hockey Club in 1962 and was picked up by the Hamilton Jr. A Hockey club in that same year.  A knee injury changed his direction in hockey and he went on to play for the St. Maryís Lincolns where they won the All-Ontario Jr. B Championships against the Kingston Frontenacs.  Doug came to Sarnia in a trade and played with the Legionnaires and played Intermediate in Forest and Petrolia.

 Doug coached minor hockey in Sarnia Township, Forest and Petrolia, winning the All Ontario Championships.  He joined the Sarnia Ranson Jr. B Hockey Club where he remained with the team for 20 years as a Scout, Assistant Coach and General Manager, fund raiser and booster club executive.  In the last 3 years he was the General Manager of the newly named Sarnia Blast Jr. B Hockey.  During his tenure the club won the Sutherland Cup for All-Ontario.  He was instrumental in sending a total of 76 players to the USA for scholarships and being drafted into the OHL.  In his relations with the young men playing on his team, Doug always looked after their well being as if they were family, whether it be their schooling, billeting or whatever their needs were on or off the ice.

Doug also scouted for the Shreveport Mudbugs in the Western Pro League, where they won the Presidentís Cup three years in a row.  The coach for the Mudbugs was Scott Muscutt who Doug scouted and brought to Sarnia.

Doug also contributed to the community with his involvement with the Huron Shores Optimist club where he was recognized by Optimist International and rewarded the Distinguished Presidents award.  The following year he was presented the Governors Award of Excellence and given the Distinguished Lt. Governor honor for Southwestern Ontario.

hosted by

back to 2007 Inductees