Baseball       Football       Inline Hockey       Hockey      3 on 3 Hockey       Lacrosse       School Sports       Soccer       More Sports       Magazine     Features

Lambton AAA Association Awards Banquet

April 13, 2012

The Lambton AA Hockey Association held their annual awards banquet Thursday night at the Dante Club.

After dinner special guest Cam Abbot spoke to Players, Coaches & Parents.  Abbot's roots are with Lambton AAA (formally Lambton Lightning) and he is now playing professionally in Sweden with his twin brother Chris.   His speech focused on head injury and concussion but also provided encouraging words in regards to hockey as a career.  "If you want it's yours, you got to work hard to get it."

The Presidents Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Ruth Ann Windover for her long standing contribution to hockey in the community.  The Builders award was presented to Joe Clark for his dedication to coaching youth.  The Volunteer Award was presented to Dave Barns for his timeless efforts and dedication to Lambton AAA hockey. 



The Jayen Day Memorial Award and Scholarship

About the Award
"Love It, Believe It, Do It"
Before his tragic death Jalen had fought and beaten a rare cancer called rhabdomyosarcoma.
He was well known in the community for his courage, determination, dedication and love for hockey.  
Jalen's dream was to become a goalie in the NHL and to win the Stanley Cup.Because of Jalen's inspiration to many people in the community the Lambton Jr. Sting Association continues to dedicate this trophy in his memory to a  Goalie who shows the same qualities of Jalen.

In addition to the Lambton AAA Award a $500.00 educational bursary is awarded each year.

The 2011-12 Jalen Day Memorial Award was presented by his former coach Paul Burgess and Jaylen's Father and Sister David and   Jessalyn to Major Bantam goalie Travis Moore.


The Micor Sports Award that is presented to a team player from each team.  The 2011/2012 receipients were presented to Ethan Kirby (Minor Atom), Nolan DeGurse (Major Atom), Joey Ferrera (Minor Peewee), Ehtan Hunt (Major Peewee), Alec DeKoning (Minor Bantam), Matt Gough, (Major Bantam)(, Adam Wammes (Minor Midget) and Justin Moore (Major Midget).





The Coach of the year and Team of the Year was presented to the Minor Midget Team and their coach David Craievich.